Two YouTube Videos You Must Watch

Right when I found out that I was losing my job, someone forwarded Mrs. LNU a link to a video of Jimmy Fallon doing a spoof of Dave Matthews. It was an “advertisement,” one of the funny ones that SNL does, for a new GPS system using Dave Matthews music to tell you where to go.

I honestly didn’t think that anything could put a smile on my face at that point, but this did.

In 2.5 Miles You Should Make a Riiii-iiii-ight, Well Bay-Bay!

For the second video:

I’ve Got 16 Tons of Questions for the Teacher

HBO used to have this series of short films called “Short Takes.” One of those movies was about a guitar player who gets brought in to fill in for someone…just for sessions. It’s called “Session Man.” The guy comes in (James Remar, I think his name is) and plays one song. And gets asked to join the band, the Raging Kings. I don’t know why I remember it from, like, 1991, but I do. The satisfaction when he gets asked to join. The quiet dejection when the crisis hits. The whole movie is about 20 minutes long. But it was well-acted, and interesting.

Part 2 video:

Part 3 video:

It’s all good.

The song, though, has some…interesting…lyrics. Some I like, some are just silly.

I’ve been working in a coal mine
on top of the world
I’ve been watching the horizon
I’ve been watching all the girls
‘Cause I’m a girl…watcher

I’ve been laughing on the inside
Livin’ with the pain
I’ve been working with the system
I’ve been standing in the rain
‘Cause I’m a born…swimmer

I’ve got 16 tons of questions for the teacher
I’ve got 16 tons of monkeys on my back
I’ve got 16 tons of doubt about the future
Its a wonder that I’ve managed to survive the silent wreckage of my past

You take a little baby fill him full of fear sell him ammunition, cigarettes, and beer
And he’s your new neighbor

He’s got 16 tons of questions for the teacher
He’s got 16 tons of monkeys on his back
He’s got 16 tons of doubt about the future
It’s a wonder that I’ve managed to survive the silent wreckage of my past.

Of my past
Of my past
Of my past

Leave a Reply

