End of the Week, End of My Rope

I’m just tired.  Really, really tired.

Damn You, The Wire!

It’s sort of sad that I can truthfully say that the show is just as good the second time around.

I did that for a while with ThirtySomething.  It played on USA, or whatever that Chicago-based channel was, every night at 11pm.  They’d go through the entire series, pilot to series ender, and then start over.  I watched the whole series in college about 4 times.  I still count as one of my favorite episodes of any TV show the one where Gary dies (sorry if that was a spoiler).  The whole series really had great closure in the episodes that followed Gary’s death.  Michael leaving the ad firm, Miles begging him to stay.  The fight for control.  Now that I’m the ThirtySomething, I’d like to watch that series again.  When I was watching last, I was about 22.  Life is a little different 16 years later.  I think I’d appreciate it more.

Our live-in help quit this morning because, she said, I wasn’t nice to her.  I thought I was nice enough.  I tried to say good morning and good evening every day.  If she had stayed longer than 3 weeks, she’d learn I was a little grumpy in the morning.  I go back and forth, however.  On the one hand, she’s a person who deserves respect, she takes care of my children when my wife can’t, etc.  On the other hand, she’s an employee and not a member of the family.  So while she deserves common courtesy, anything above that is voluntary.

Thoughts, Internet?

Where was I?  Oh yes, tired.

All I want to do is go to sleep.

And I played tennis last night and lost badly.  So let’s just say that I’m ready for this week to end.

Leave a Reply

