Relief

It’s comforting when the Chief of Pediatric Neurology at a major hospital in NYC says, “there’s nothing wrong with your child.”  The negative CAT scan yesterday was good.

But this was relief.

Evidently, the symptoms my son has, even though it’s extremely unusual for a 2-year-old to have these symptoms, are not part of a larger problem.  If there were a real problem, says the doctor, it would present in other areas.  But my son is evidently absolutely where he should be neurologically, which means that there aren’t any major malfunctions anywhere.  The doctor says that he’s not sure why my son has the symptoms, but as they’re isolated, they’ll likely just go away on their own.

I once heard someone say that having children is like living with a gun to your head.  Any second—and totally not in your control—your life can be over.  That idea is absolutely true.  This was frankly scarier than either of the times this kid was in the PICU (pediatric intensive care unit) when he was a baby.  This was sinister: something wrong with his brain.  I can’t even think about it.

And you know what?  I don’t have to think about it any more.

I think I’ll be able to sleep for the first time in two weeks tonight. 

So why am I still up?  Good night, all.  And thanks for the well-wishes.

4 responses to “Relief

  1. Glad to hear everything is OK! Hope you got some well-needed rest!

  2. Sorry I haven’t been around this week, just reading about all this now.
    Glad everything is ok.

  3. Amber/Daydreamer

    I’ve been MIA lately, so I’m sorry I am just now getting to this. I’m glad everything is okay. As a Mother, I totally agree with the gun and parenthood analogy. It is absolutley true.

Leave a Reply

