My Come-uppance; Or Cup…pance

I used to mock people who went to Starbucks.

“It’s overpriced,” I’d say.

“Who’d pay $4 for a cup of coffee?” I’d ask.

“Do people realize how stupid they sound ordering a ‘venti half double decaf caramel macchiato no foam?'” I’d inquire.

Says the person who just paid $4 for a grande skim no-foam latte.

What’s happened to me?

I used to be such a normal guy. I barely recognize myself.

Is there group therapy for this?

* * * * *

I celebrated the end of Passover yesterday with a disgusting display of carbohydrates. An Entemann’s cinnamon danish (440 calories), chocolate (one godiva, one almond M&Ms), coffee (just regular ol’ joe), peanuts, and cheez-its. Basically an entire box of cheez-its. Hey, it’s not all bad. It “contains 100% real cheese.” Made with skim milk, even. Of course, on the ingredients, it lists cheese right after “vegetable oil (canola, cottonseed, palm, sunflower, and/or partially hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ for freshness).”

I don’t know which is worse, the list of oils, or the “and/or,” which tells me that they’re not even sure which oils are in there.

Oh, and I looked up “TBHQ.” It’s tert-butylhydroquinone.  A preservative for fats. Which probably is as disgusting as it sounds.

And I learned something else. There’s such a thing as too much information.

Because I really wanted to know the chemical composition looked like this:

Too Much Information

Actually, no, I didn’t.

Although, there must be a joke to be made somewhere about the “Ho” on the left, and the “Oh” on the right.

But I guess I haven’t had enough of my grande no-foam skim latte to reach for it yet.

Have I mentioned that I really hate all-day, everyday meetings? I’m sure you professionals out there know what I’m talking about. I’m on day 1 of 3 1/2 days of all-day meetings. I have a little break right now, but I have to go back in any minute now.

If my posts are fewer and farther between, now you know why. Meetings kills brain cells faster than any other method I know.

3 responses to “My Come-uppance; Or Cup…pance

  1. I think of it as paying rent on that cushy chair in the joint. I can hold a meeting or take care of my business only. It’s like cheap office rent!

  2. Have you tried the new Starbucks coffee? I haven’t had a chance yet… been saving my $4.00 for other things 😉

  3. I didn’t even click on the Wiki link.

    I don’t like Starbucks coffee. I’ll drink lattes. But Dunkin Donuts has the best coffee in the WORLD!

Leave a Reply

