When I Was Eight….

I have a crappy memory. It’s not that I forget things. Once something is in the memory, it’s there. But I just don’t transfer a lot of experiences into my memory. So other than the fact that my third grade teacher’s name was Ms. Gilbert, and a couple of other things, I don’t really remember a whole lot about the third grade.

But I’m fairly sure that I didn’t engage in a conspiracy with other third graders to kill or maim my teacher.

I weep for the future.

My favorite part—if that’s the right word—is this:

Police say the students were hatching a plan to harm their teacher Friday morning. They even brought items from home to carry out the plan.

“They had a broken steak knife, a crystal paper weight, toy handcuffs, several items and tape and stuff,” says Lt. Caswell.

A steak knife and a paper weight? Who was this teacher? Rasputin?

4 responses to “When I Was Eight….

  1. I saw the headlines of this story and couldn’t believe it!! Third graders are already plotting to hurt their teacher? We might as well throw their little asses in jail now!

  2. makes me “really” excited to be a teacher…luckily I’m much loved, for now…

  3. seriously, I’ve been teaching for 6 years now and I think the kids are getting sweeter and sweeter so don’t hold this story against all children 🙂 Not that you would!

  4. as a teacher this was freaky to read…i’m always wondering when they will revolt against my labs! and i want to know what the “and stuff” was if the other things were so weird…a wooden stake? coloring books to throw at her?

Leave a Reply

