It’s the Little Things

You know what really annoys me?  When I hold the door open for someone and when they walk through, they push it open just a little bit more.  Now, it’s one thing if it’s a heavy door, and I’m only holding it open a smidge.  But when I’m holding it all the way open, people still have this uncontrollable urge to open it just a bit more.

Gee, competitive much?

That’s it.  I had thought about writing more, but I just got back from another trip and I’m ready to hit the sack.  I counted it up the other day: in the last 5 weeks, I’ve been in the office for four days.

5 responses to “It’s the Little Things

  1. What I hate even more than that is when you hold the door open for someone and they just breeze through without so much as a thank you, mostly just ignoring you, but sometimes favouring you with a supercilious glance, as if you should be grateful to have been given the opportunity to “serve” them in such a way.

    By “you” I clearly mean “me” here, by the way. Can you tell this has been happening to me a lot recently? Mostly I find a loud, sarcastic, “YOU’RE WELCOME! No, don’t mention it!” works, though…

  2. I hate when they don’t say thank you…I do exactly what Amber does, it’s passive aggressive but it makes me feel infinitely better!

  3. Oh yeah, baby, that’s so rude. Why is common courtesy so uncommon? Seriously, “please,” “thank you,” how tough is that?

  4. I couldn’t agree more and have tried really hard to instill good manners in my child. The other night we were at a resturant and the waiter filled his glass four different times and every single time I noted that my son (who is 14) thanked him without any reminder. He has great manners and the best way to teach that is by example. I said thank you every time my water was refilled too.

  5. I think sometimes it’s just that people are in too much of a hurry to really pay attention … I know I’m guilty of that… thanks for the reminder to be more mindful of others.

Leave a Reply

