Twas Brillig

OK, so I’m looking through some blogs, and I got to Walking Kateastrophe, which you have to admit is a great name for a blog. And she’s got a great story on there about a proposal. One day I’ll write about mine. Some of my longtime readers might remember that I wrote about it a LONG time ago. When I was still on Blogger, I think. Wow, that was a long time.

But from her, I got to a GREAT name for a blog: Twas Brillig.

For those of you who don’t get the reference (and who I’m sure therefore never took 11th grade English), it’s from Jabberwocky. “Twas brillig and the slithy toves did gyre and gimble in the wabe.” Yes, it doesn’t make sense. That’s the beauty. That, and the fact that Lewis Carroll was likely high on extreme doses of laudanum when he wrote it. (It’s an opiate that was a common painkiller in those days. See also, Tombstone).

The whole poem after the jump.

‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

“Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch!”

He took his vorpal sword in hand:
Long time the manxome foe he sought—
So rested he by the Tumtum tree,
And stood awhile in thought.

And, as in uffish thought he stood,
The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame,
Came whiffling through the tulgey wood,
And burbled as it came!

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
He left it dead, and with its head
He went galumphing back.

“And hast thou slain the Jabberwock?
Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!”
He chortled in his joy.

‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

2 responses to “Twas Brillig

  1. Thanks for the compliment!! Ironically, Brillig and I are also real life best friends! I’m sure she’ll pop over here sometime too! Now I’m off to read through your archives! YAY!

  2. Wow! Thanks for the shout-out!

    And I hope that you WILL write your proposal story–and we’d love for you to consider writing it (or any other deliciously romantic story) to our Soap Opera Sunday game that both Kateastrophe and I play! Speaking of that… I better get on it. I think I’m hosting this weekend.

    Anyway, it’s super nice to meet you, and thanks again for the linky-love!

Leave a Reply

