Piccolo Mini

There’s this song that I sing with my kids. It’s called Piccolo Mini. The only words are…piccolo mini. You just change the syllable emphasis to make the song:

Piccolo Mini, picCOlo mini
Piccolo Mini PiCO-
-Lo Mini Piccolo MIni piCOlo mini piccolo mini PI-
-Ccolo miNI piccoLO mini piccolo mini picCOlo mini.

I’ll see if I can’t find a way to post me singing it tomorrow.

Anyone know of an easy way to get audio onto your site?

6 responses to “Piccolo Mini

  1. Hi ~

    My sister is turning sixty in June and I am making her a cd with all the songs from our childhood. We used to sing piccolo mini on car rides. I’d love to be able to get this song for her! Do you know where I could get a cd of that song even if you sing it yourself!?

    I ‘d appreciate any help you can give me.

    Thanks

    Paula

    PS Please put piccolo mini as the subject in the email so I can recognize it in case it ends up in Junk Mail.

  2. Does anyone know the origin of Piccolo Mini? I used to sing it to my daughter, but I don’t know how I learned it? Do you know who wrote it?

  3. We sang Picolomini at camp in the late 1960s and early 1970s, and have been singing it at big family gatherings ever since. It’s always the biggest hit, getting everyone to sing along, starting slow and then speeding up to mad finale.

  4. My older sister taught me this song at a very young age. She was a camp counselor. I don’t know if she learned it at a Girl Scout camp or Lutheran Hills in southern Indiana. 1960s? I have taught my 8 year old and cant’ wait for her to sing to my sister over the phone. I’d love to know where folks learned this song. We grew up in Indiana. Girls Scouts. Lutherans. Anyone?

  5. I learned this song in the late 60’s at school camp as well. I won the fastest singing contest, beating out a teacher. Ahhh what a proud moment that was! At the time, I thought this was just something that teacher had made up in Wisconsin . But it must have some origin. The only thing I can think of is Italian for a noble family name.

Leave a Reply

