Being a Geek

Yes, I was am a geek.  I used to get to high school early every morning, to play chess.   I was the photo editor (read photographer) for the school newspaper and the yearbook.  One of my best friends was the A/V guy.  I think I’ve got serious geek cred.

So Melina having a Wii doesn’t even rate, does it?

I was in a youth group, where I was a “cool guy.”  So I had two lives: my school persona (geek, shy, liked being behind a camera rather than in front of one, no girlfriend [’til senior year], no social skills) and my youth group persona (cool kid, knew everyone, outgoing, etc).

When I went off to college, I made a conscious decision that I was going to be the youth group person and not the high school person.  It helped that absolutely no one from my high school went with me to college.  I would say that I remade myself in Boston, but truth be told, I was already that person.  I just chose to not be that other person.  I still liked chess, I still took pictures, it was just a willingness to speak to people, strangers.  To start conversations.  To put myself out there.

I remember one summer at my youth group convention I made a decision that by the end of the week, I was going to meet everyone there.  And I did.  I introduced myself to about 100 people over the course of the week, in addition to talking to the people I already knew.  I didn’t tell anyone I was doing it.  I just decided that I was going to be friendly.  To everyone.

And I had a great group of friends in college.  A diverse group.  Same with law school.  I was friends with the conservative group, the earthy-crunchy types.  Everyone.

I like being that person.

2 responses to “Being a Geek

  1. it’s not having the wii that’s making me a nerd, it’s recognizing Star Wars characters!!

  2. ha. I know some pretty cool nerds. In fact, I think right now it’s cool to be a nerd. So, if you’re NOT a nerd, then really, you’re also not really cool. Funny how that works, right? I’m still waiting for the time when Twinkie’s make a comeback!

Leave a Reply

