Replacing “The” with “Da”

Normally, I hate shortened words.  I don’t use “wanna” when “want to” is what I’m saying (don’t chastise me for using contractions; they’re a recognized and proper shortening of a word).  I don’t use LOL, or ROFLMAO, or LFIREKKFLDOOEIDKMDKKFI, or any abbreviations.  I’m a bit of a grammar and punctuation geek, and it comes through in my writing.  I wouldn’t be caught dead using an emoticon, or as I say it, “stupid little things used by 12 year olds who have too much time on their hands and are proof that the world is going to hell in a handbasket.”

We won’t talk about the increased text messaging charges, or the repetitive stress injuries to my thumbs from all the extra typing.

So you’d think I’d be virulently against saying “da” instead of “the.”  And normally, you’d be right.

But Lisa B. just does it so well.  Go visit Lisa B in Da City, she’s awesome.

One response to “Replacing “The” with “Da”

  1. Awww shucks, thanks Dear!!!

    Very nice of you…

    FYI, “da” started as a riff against my very buttoned up neighborhood. Shhh, don’t tell anyone!

Leave a Reply

